2015 UNESCO: Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation

Deadline: 15 June 2015

Nominations are open for Sultan Qaboos Prize 2015!

The UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation recognizes outstanding contributions by individuals, groups of individuals, institutes, or organizations in the management or preservation of the environment. This refers to contributions in environmental and natural resources research; environmental education and training; environmental awareness; and activities to establish and manage protected areas such as biosphere reserves and natural World Heritage sites. The financial prize is US$70 thousand and is awarded every two years.

Who can nominate?

  • Nominations for the Prize can only be made by UNESCO Members States and by International Organizations or by Non-Governmental Organizations which have consultative status with UNESCO, each of which may make only one nomination.
  • Other interested NGOs, as well as research institutions, universities and individuals, are not eligible to make nominations directly to UNESCO. Such bodies and individuals are invited to propose their candidate to their country National Commission for UNESCO, which may or may not select it as its formal candidature.
  • Candidatures should be prepared in English or French.

How to apply

  • Nominators must complete the attached nomination form and return it, together with a list of referees via email.
  • Each nomination should be accompanied by a written recommendation, and may be submitted in either English or French, which are UNESCO’s working languages.
  • The Prize will be awarded for the 13th time at a ceremony that will take place during the World Science Forum in Budapest (Hungary), from 4 to 7 November 2015.

For more information, please visit UNESCO Prize.