Institute of International Education seeks nominations for the 2012 Andrew Heiskell Awards from initiatives promoting internationalization of education

The Institute of International Education (IIE) is currently seeking nominations from IIE Network members for the 2012 Andrew Heiskell Awards that showcase the most innovative and successful models for internationalization of campuses, study abroad, and international partnership programs in practice today.

IIE is particularly interested in highlighting initiatives that remove institutional barriers and broaden the base of participation in international teaching and learning on campus.

Award Categories

There are four award categories for 2012.

Category 1: Internationalizing the Campus

Advancing curriculum development, fostering international opportunities and creatively integrating international students into university life.

Category 2: Study Abroad

Providing innovative programs and services to make study abroad accessible to a broader student population.

Category 3: Best Practices in International Partnerships

Recognizing strategic, comprehensive and innovative international partnership efforts.

Category 4: Internationalizing the Community College Campus

Creating innovative programs and services, including study abroad, to make international opportunities accessible to community college students. (IIE & AACC members are eligible to apply.)

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

IIENetwork members around the world are eligible for the Heiskell Award.

In selecting winners, the Selection Panel considers the degree to which the program achieves success in some of the following areas. However, not all of these guidelines are applicable to each program.

Developing an innovative approach

Addressing a specific need

Taking advantage of a new opportunity

  • Removing barriers or broadening the reach of international education
  • Contributing to internationalization on campus
  • Demonstrating any documented results
  • Developing any public, private or non-profit partnerships
  • Cooperating with institutions in other countries

Prize and Recognition

Winning programs will be recognized at IIE’s Best Practices Conference in New York City on March 9, 2012.  All winning programs will be showcased on the IIENetwork website and in the IIENetworker magazine. Winners will be presented with an award certificate and a $1000 prize (shared by the winning institutions in the partnership categories).

Last date for submission of nominations is October 14, 2011.

For more information, visit this link.