Civil Society Scholar Awards 2016-2017 by Open Society Foundations

Deadline: 15 February 2016

Open Society Foundations is currently inviting applications for its Civil Society Scholar Awards (CSSA) 2016-2017. The Program will support international academic mobility to enable doctoral students and university faculty to access resources that enrich socially-engaged research and critical scholarship in their home country or region.

Competition for CSSA awards is merit-based.  Selection will be made on the basis of proven academic excellence, a clear and justifiable need for international travel to complete the research project and relevance of the project to the development of open society in the applicant’s home country.

Eligible countries

Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea, Haiti, Kosovo, Laos, Libya, Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Myanmar/Burma, Nepal, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Serbia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, or Yemen.

Subject Areas

  • Any subject areas within the social sciences and humanities are eligible, but particularly those related to:
    • Law, justice, and governance
    • sustainable development and natural resource management
    • economic rights and empowerment of the poor
    • public health, social work and community development
    • new media law and policy
    • inclusive education
    • post-conflict studies
    • human rights

Grants & Duration

  • Maximum Funding: Doctoral Students: $10,000; Faculty Members: $15,000.
  • Project Duration: Between 2 – 9 Months.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The awards are open to the following academic populations:
    • doctoral students of eligible fields studying at accredited universities inside or outside of their home country
    • Full-time faculty members teaching at universities in their home country.
  • Candidates must be citizens of the following countries (mentioned above).
  • Applicants with permanent resident status or dual citizenship in Australia, Canada, European Union, New Zealand, Nordic countries, or USA are not eligible to apply.
  • The program does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, or disability.

How to Apply

Applicants must apply online through the website.

For more information, please visit CSSA Programme 2016-2017.