Apply for Charles Wallace India Trust Awards 2016-17!

Deadline: 30 November 2015

The British Council in India is currently inviting applications from the Indian citizens for the Charles Wallace India Trust Awards 2016-17, with an aim to provide early to mid career practitioners, a chance to study or gain wider experience and exposure.

Priority Areas

CWIT covers the following Arts and Heritage Conservation fields of study:

  1. Arts
    • Visual Arts
    • Performance, e.g. Dance, Drama, Music, Directing
    • Film – including Script Writing and Direction
    • Photography
    • Design (but not Architecture)
    • Curating
    • Art History.
  2. Heritage Conservation
    • Conservation architecture
    • Management of heritage projects or sites
    • Conservation of materials such as timber, stone, metal including metal structures, armour, paintings, photographs and film ( internships for painting conservators are sometimes hosted at the TATE conservation department- enquiries to metal structures, armour, paintings, photographs and film)
    • Conservation of landscape
    • Management of museums and collections.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicant must-

  • be an Indian citizen living in India
  • be aged between 25 and 38
  • have a first degree, diploma or professional qualification in their specialization. CWIT prefers applicants with significant working experience
  • have not received a CWIT grant within the last five years.

Application Process

  • The application form should include a Statement of Purpose (not more than 2 pages).
  • Applicants must also provide-
    • An IELTS Certificate (essential for unconditional acceptance for most UK courses).
    • Evidence of unconditional acceptance on the course, programme, attachment or internship for which you have applied, or evidence of progress towards acceptance.
    • Portfolio submission where appropriate in either CD/DVD or hard copy format.

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted in a hard copy format via postal mail.

For more information, please visit Charles Wallace India Trust Awards.