The United Nations Sasakawa Award: Recognizing Excellence in reducing Disaster Risk for a Safer World

2016 Award Nominations are yet to be announced

Nominations of individuals or organizations that are visionary and able to anticipate future needs are being accepted for the United Nations Sasakawa Award for Disaster Risk Reduction, under the theme ‘Shaping the Future.’

Searching for Project Ideas?
Join Premium and View Hundreds of Sample Proposals from Successful NGOs around the world. Learn more.


  • $50,000 to Laureate
  • Certificate of Distinction
  • Certificate of Merit
  • The prize will be awarded at the Third UN World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction to be held in Sendai, Japan from 14-18 March 2015.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominations can be made by – Former United Nations Sasakawa Award Laureates; individuals that are part of the UNISDR thematic platforms and other networks (this may include national or local government officials, NGOs, academic institutions, the private sector, regional organizations and those who took part in sessions of the Global platform for Disaster risk reduction; representatives of institutions dealing with disaster prevention and mitigation; and United Nations agencies, funds and programs and UN resident coordinators; permanent missions to UN offices around the world.
  • Nominees can be individuals, community groups, civil society organizations, government agencies at local or national level, NGOs or private sector entities.
  • Nominees must demonstrate
    • A distinguished track record.
    • An understanding of impacts of disasters and how to manage the risks we face.
    • The ability to transmit new insights and knowledge to the wider community on how to build resilience to disasters and live sustainably.
    • The vision and charisma to engage the wider community in activities that help strengthen society’s ability to be resilient.
    • The talent for making clear proposals and recommendations to influence disaster risk reduction policy based on evidence.
    • The potential to shape the future of how disaster risk is prevented, reduced and managed.
  • Previous winners cannot be nominated.
  • Self nominations are not accepted.

Nomination Guidelines

  • Nominators must submit a letter of nomination.
  • The nomination letter must be followed by a package of supporting documents from the nominee.
  • Supporting documents include – an essay written by the nominee describing the results of initiative they are undertaking to reduce the impact of disasters and build disaster resilience and the financial implications of the initiative that has been nominated.
  • Other documents include (not mandatory) photos; power-point slideshow; video; books; character references; posters, pamphlets and similar printed material (excluding books).

For more information, please visit The Sasakawa Award.

Receive Funding Alerts by Country or Your Areas of Work
As a Premium Member, you can select to receive the right funding alerts according to your country or areas of work. Join Premium



15 Potential Funding Opportunities for Young Professionals for Growth and Success


  1. Hello,
    Can an international NGO apply for this?? we are in Amman, Jordan
    We are running a DRR project and this fits with our goals and objectives

    Thank in advance

    • Hi Fatima,
      The nominations for the award can be made by Former United Nations Sasakawa Award Laureates; individuals that are part of the UNISDR thematic platforms and other networks, as mentioned on the post. Please visit for more information link provided at the end of the post and you will get all necessary details regarding the award.

      Thank you.