AEWA Small Grants Fund: Inviting NGOs Working on AEWA related Conservation & Livelihood activities in Selected African Countries

Deadline: 27 March 2016

The African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbird Agreement Small Grants Fund is open for applications with an aim to promote the implementation of AEWA in developing countries and countries with economies in transition.

The Fund supports AEWA-related conservation activities, for example species and habitat conservation, training and awareness-raising for different target groups, survey and monitoring of species and sites, and livelihood-related activities.

Grants Information

The maximum sum granted per project is USD 16,000 and the maximum project duration is 24 months.

Eligible Countries

Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Nigeria, Rwanda, Swaziland, Uganda.

Following countries can contact UNEP/AEWA Secretariat to find out about eligibility: Chad, Congo, Dijibouti, Guinea Bissau, Libya, Niger, Senegal, Sudan, Tunisia, Zimbabwe.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Project proposals can be submitted by any national governmental agency or any national or international non-governmental agency/organization involved with the conservation of migratory waterbirds and/or their habitats in the respective eligible country.
  • Projects are not eligible for funding if a Small Grants Fund project from an earlier cycle is ongoing in the respective country. Projects in member countries are also not eligible for funding if the respective country is more than three years in arrears with its annual financial contributions to AEWA.

How to Apply

Interested applicants can submit their project proposals using the application form provided on the website.

For more information, please visit AEWA Small Grants Fund.