The Australian Government: National Disability Insurance Scheme

Deadline: 11 February 2016

The Australian Government is inviting organisations to apply for an open competitive process to deliver services under the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) for the period April 2016 to 30 June 2017.

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), of which the Sector Development Fund (SDF) is a Sub Activity, intends to ensure people with a disability are supported to participate in and contribute to social and economic life to the extent of their abilities.  People with disability and their carers will have certainty that they will receive the individualised care and support they need over time. The NDIS is a new way of providing individualized support for eligible people with permanent and significant disability, their families and carers.

As part of a broad plan to boost productivity and remove unnecessary red tape for community organisations, the Department of Social Services (DSS) has streamlined NDIS grant programme aimed at enhancing service delivery and providing greater freedom for service providers.

The Specialist Disability Accommodation Initiative (SDAI) is designed to help address immediate community need for specialist disability housing in areas outside NDIS trial sites, as determined by geographic location or age cohort, by providing ‘top up’ funding to:

  • increase the availability of accommodation for people with a disability, who the applicant anticipates will be eligible for the NDIS, with a particular focus on:
    • those housed in inappropriate accommodation settings; and
    • those with ageing carers who are in need of a long-term, sustainable arrangement.
  • identify project initiatives with self-sustaining specialist disability housing models which could be scaled up in the future.

Grants Information

Funding of up to $10 million will be offered through grants of up to $1 million to organisations as a result of this process.

Eligibility Criteria

The following entity types meet the eligibility requirements to be invited to apply for a grant under these Activities:

  • Incorporated Associations (incorporated under state/territory legislation, commonly have ‘Association’ or ‘Incorporated’ or ‘Inc.’ in their legal name)
  • Incorporated Cooperatives (also incorporated under state/territory legislation, commonly have ‘Cooperative’ in their legal name)
  • Companies (incorporated under the Corporations Act 2001 – may be a proprietary company (limited by shares or by guarantee) or public companies)
  • Aboriginal Corporations (incorporated under the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2006)
  • Organisations established through a specific piece of Commonwealth or state/territory legislation (public benevolent institutions, churches, universities, unions etc.)
  • Partnerships;
  • Trustees on behalf of a Trust;and
  • Where there is no suitable alternative, an individual or – jointly and separately – individuals

The following entity types may be invited in special circumstances:

  • State and Territory Governments; and
  • Local Governments.

How to Apply

Interested applicants can apply by submitting their application forms electronically at the address given on the website.

For more information, please visit Australian Disability Insurance Scheme.