2nd ERANet-LAC Joint Call 2015-2016 on Research & Innovation for Europe, Latin-America & Caribbean Countries

Deadline: 10 March 2016

European Commission is currently inviting applications for its 2nd ERANet-LAC Joint Call 2015-2016. The aim of the Programme is to start new, sustainable and multilateral research cooperation between researchers from Europe, Latin-America and the Caribbean countries. The fundamental principles of the call guiding the selection of projects to be funded are:

Searching for Project Ideas?
Join Premium and View Hundreds of Sample Proposals from Successful NGOs around the world. Learn more.
  • Transparency.:The process for reaching funding decisions will be clearly described and available to any interested party.
  • Equality of treatment: All proposals shall be treated alike, irrespective of where they originate or the identity of the proposers.
  • Ethical considerations: Any proposal that contravenes fundamental ethical principles may be excluded from being evaluated and selected at any time.

Eligible Countries

Argentina, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, Italy, Latvia, Mexico, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal (tbc), Romania, Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey and Uruguay.

Project Duration

The duration of a project can be up to 36 months (check national regulations). Approved projects should start between November 2016 and January 2017.

Receive Funding Alerts by Country or Your Areas of Work
As a Premium Member, you can select to receive the right funding alerts according to your country or areas of work. Join Premium

Research Topics

  • Ecosystem-based adaptation and resilience.
  • Waste management, recycling and urban mining.
  • Biorefinery – Fractionation and valorisation of residual biomass to intermediate and/or final high added value bioproducts.
  • Biorefinery – Lignocellulosic biorefinery platform: Production of high-value biobased products.
  • Wind Energy – Advancement of small/medium-scale wind turbines in EULAC countries.
  • Solar thermal energy – Energy storage technologies.
  • Cancer – Improving the quality of care and quality of life of dying cancer patients.
  • Infectious diseases – Research in prevention of infectious diseases and promotion of well-being.
  • (ICT in relation with HEALTH): Improving wellbeing and inclusiveness through e-health, m-health, and active and assisted living (AAL) solutions.
  • Smarter, inclusive and sustainable cities.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The ERANet-LAC call includes 32 different national funding organizations with their own call management system. In order to respect the necessary national funding rules and procedures, national eligibility criteria have been defined by the participating countries. Project partners are advised to check in advance what type of costs are eligible for national beneficiaries as well as the funding rates and limits of the countries in question.
  • Applicants can represent public and private scientific, research, technological and innovation  8 institutions on national, federal or EU-LAC regional level, research active industry and NGOs and other institutions involved in research and or innovation activities, as long as they are eligible for funding according to the respective national and/or institutional regulations.
  • There should be a principal investigator (PI) for each of the national research groups. Within a joint proposal, the principal investigator from each country will be the contact person towards the respective national funding organizations.
  • Each consortium submitting a proposal must involve a minimum of four eligible partners from four different countries with at least two countries from each region.

How to Apply

Project proposals must be submitted electronically using the CYTED web tool through the website.

For more information, please visit Call for proposal.

15 Potential Funding Opportunities for Young Professionals for Growth and Success