Anne Wexler Master’s Scholarships in Public Policy

Applications for the Anne Wexler Scholarships: open 1 July 2012 and close at 5.00pm AEST on 30 September 2012.

The Anne Wexler Scholarships are part of the Australian Government’s Australia Awards Program and are funded through the Australian Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education and administered by the Australian-American Fulbright Commission.

These awards are given to commemorate Anne Wexler, who was a successful Washington US lobbyist who had a long interest in Australia. She was a senior official with the U.S. Department of Commerce, before embarking on her lobbying career, and a democrat whose career highlights included working with President Jimmy Carter. She was made an Honorary Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) by the Australian Government for her work on the Australia-United States Free Trade Agreement and the Australian-American Leadership Dialogue. She passed away on 7 August 2009.

The major objective of the Anne Wexler Scholarships is to grow Australian-American educational linkages by building the network of public policy experts and to encourage ongoing policy exchange between both countries. The scholarship will enable Australian and U.S. postgraduate students with strong academic credentials and leadership potential to undertake a Master’s degree in Australia or the United States in an area that supports Mrs Wexler’s binational interests in the field of public policy. These may include key areas such as health, sustainability, energy, climate change, regional security, political science, history or governmental relations.

Two Wexler Scholarships will be awarded annually. One for an Australian citizen to enroll in and complete a full U.S. Masters degree in Public Policy while in receipt of the Anne Wexler Scholarship and one for an American (US) citizen to enroll in and complete a full Australian Masters degree in Public Policy while in receipt of the Anne Wexler Scholarship.

Scholarship Benefits

The Scholarships will be awarded for a maximum two year period and be valued at up to AUD 140,000 each. Benefits include:

•Annual stipend of up to AUD 30,000 for a maximum of two years

•Tuition fees of up to AUD 27,500 per year for a maximum of two years

•Travel allowance of AUD 5,000 for return travel

•Establishment allowance of AUD 6,000

•Insurance AUD 4,000

For further information, visit the link.